The battle for the Wisconsin PGA Player of the Year titles was front and center again on Monday. A field of 56 players took to Naga-Waukee GC in Pewaukee to participate in WPGA Classic #3. The 18-hole stroke play event was the third classic of the four event series. The one-day events will wrap up with the WPGA Stableford Classic on Tuesday, July 13 at Edelweiss Chalet CC.

It was an ideal day for scoring as soft greens and light winds gave the players the green light to go low. In the end the duo of Joe Leonard and Mick Smith would put together bogey free rounds to tie at the top. They each carded 6-under-par 66s. For Leonard a hot back nine would feature one eagle and two birdies and let him post the score first. For Smith it would just be solid golf all around, as he would birdie all four par 5s.

Per WPGA policy, since the classic featured tee times the twosome were crowned co-champions of the event and no playoff was conducted.

After the WPGA Player of the Year points were awarded the players sit 1 and 2 in the standings. Smith leads Leonard by 42.58 points with several point opportunities left on the calendar.

Finishing just one shot back and claiming the senior division win was Naga-Waukee GC PGA Teaching Professional Kurt Mantyla.

The WPGA would like to thank the PGA Tour for their gracious support of the event once again, and also express our appreciation to Naga-Waukee GC for hosting.

WPGA Classic #3 Results