The Wisconsin Section PGA is pleased to announce our 2019 WPGA Special Award winners. These awards recognize the extraordinary accomplishments of our Wisconsin PGA Professionals on and off the course.

Award winners will be honored at a reception on Monday, March 4th at Wilderness Resort & Conference Center in Wisconsin Dells, Wis. This reception is part of the Wisconsin PGA Spring Meeting and Product Showcase. Below is a list of the winners followed by a detailed write-up about each winner.

WPGA Golf Professional of the Year – Jim Buyze, PGA – Wild Ridge & Mill Run Golf Courses
Teacher of the Year – Travis Becker, PGA – Beloit Club
Assistant Golf Professional of the Year – John Bailey, PGA – Maple Bluff Country Club
Horton Smith Award – Vince Pulizzano, PGA – Westmoor Country Club
Youth Player Development Award – Kari Tomash, PGA – Butte des Morts Country Club
Player Development Award – Chuck Wood, PGA – Oconomowoc Golf Club
Bill Strausbaugh Award – Rich Tock, PGA – Erin Hills
Patriot Award – Bob Burns, PGA – Bob Burns Golf
Merchandiser of the Year (Private) – Skip Simonds, PGA – Milwaukee Country Club
Merchandiser of the Year (Public) – Matt Boesch, PGA – Hawk’s View Golf Club
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) – Pat Stein, PGA – Wild Rock Golf Club

2019 Special Awards Press Release