Bull's Eye CC W/O Ad
Today is October 18, 2017

2017 Youth Player Development Award - Bob Feller, PGA

In 1988 the Wisconsin Section, PGA began recognizing PGA professionals for their excellence in youth player development.  First time recipient, Bob Feller of Reedsburg CC has been awarded this year’s honor.  The Wauwatosa native has been the head professional at the club since 2000 and is a twenty year member of the Wisconsin Section, PGA.  He spent time at both The Legend at Merrill Hills and River Club of Mequon before taking on his current head professional role. 
For Feller and his team the year started off with an emphasis to take their junior golf program to a new level.  That process began by completing level-one coaches training for The First Tee.  Shortly thereafter and with the help of The First Tee of South Central Wisconsin, Reedsburg CC became a new programming site for the organization.  With this mix of new programming and some added marketing efforts, the club saw a sixty percent increase in participants. 
Other highlights of the season included the club hosting a WPGA Junior Tour event for the 17th straight year, continuation of their popular family golf program and the opportunity for six of their juniors to participate in The First Tee Skills Challenge at The American Family Insurance Championship. 
The year was then capped off by Feller working with five local elementary schools to incorporate The First Tee program into the physical education classes.  Between 2016 and 2017 the program will look to bring the game of golf to more than 1000 Reedsburg area elementary students. 
“I am humbled by the respect that I have earned from my peers in the golf industry,” Feller said.  “By surrounding myself with dedicated staff, I have been able to create a wonderful program, which will continue to thrive.  It is a great feeling to be acknowledged for our teamwork at RCC, and we are extremely motivated to continue to grow our program.”


Past Recipients



(The Hornung Trophy awarded for Golf Professional of the Year)

A Complete History of Past Winners





WPGA Special Awards Reception Sponsored By: