Legend at Merrill Hills WO Ad
Today is December 14, 2018

2018 Teacher of the Year - David Roesch, PGA

For the second straight season the Wisconsin PGA is pleased to recognize David Roesch as the WPGA Teacher of the Year.  The honor is bestowed on a WPGA member that has shown excellence in the area of instruction and player development. 
After giving his best shot at a playing career, Roesch recently finished up his eighth season as a full-time instructor.  He currently offers his teaching services at Storm’s Golf Range, The Legend Clubs and his indoor studio in Menomonee Falls.  The former Nationwide Tour member’s teaching resume also includes instruction certifications from US Kids and Trackman.
The Milwaukee native has continued to fine tune his craft by teaching players of all ranges of ability, while offering those students the latest range of technology to help improve their games. Once again he set a personal record on lessons given as he topped the 1,700 mark of one hour lessons this past calendar year.
A list of accomplishments by his students this past season is a testament to the affect he has had on their games.  Included in that list are the 2017 WSGA Amateur Player of the Year (Student - Jack Schultz), 2017 WSGA Senior Player of the Year (Student – Kevin Cahill), 2017 WPGA Junior Girls Player of the Year (Student - Abby Cavaiani) and several other top finishes by collegiate and high school golfers. 
“I’ve been fortunate to turn my passion for golf into my life’s work,” Roesch said.  “Winning this award back to back years and receiving recognition from my colleagues is truly an honor.  I am grateful for the opportunity to help my students improve their skills, achieve their goals and enjoy the game of golf.”
On the course his game matches up to his impressive teaching skills as he owns one Wisconsin State Open title, a tie for 31st at the 2004 U.S. Open, an NGA Hooters Tour win, three WPGA Match Play Championships, One WPGA Stroke Play title and two WPGA Assistant Championship wins. 
For these accomplishments he was inducted into the Wisconsin Golf Hall of Fame in the fall of 2016. 


Past Recipients



(The Hornung Trophy awarded for Golf Professional of the Year)

A Complete History of Past Winners





WPGA Special Awards Reception Sponsored By: