Legend at Merrill Hills WO Ad
Today is December 14, 2018

Background / Process

(2018 Awards - Details Below)

Annually the Wisconsin PGA honors several golf professionals throughout the state for their great accomplishments on and off the course.  The process starts at the Wisconsin PGA's fall meeting, where peers can nominate fellow golf professionals for awards in the following categories;
Golf Professional of the Year
Teacher of the Year
Youth Player Development Award - Recognizing excellence in junior golf and youth development.
Assistant Professional of the Year
Bill Strausbaugh -  Presented to a PGA Professional who by their day-to-day efforts have distinguished themselves by mentoring their fellow PGA Professionals in improving their employment situations and through service to the community.
Horton Smith - The award is designed to give special recognition to an individual PGA Professional for outstanding and continuing contributions to professional education.
PGA Player Development (Growth of the Game)
Patriot Award - This award goes to a PGA Professional who embodies patriotism and shows dedication to the men and women who have served in the United States Armed Forces.
Merchandiser of the Year (Private, Public & Resort)
Player's of the Year (Member, Senior & Assistant)
After a professional is nominated it is his or her choice as to whether to submit materials for consideration.  Materials are generally due by early December.  The materials are then reviewed by a different sub-committee for each award.  The WPGA Past President then takes their feedback and finalists are determined.  Once the finalists have been selected their materials are forwarded on to the a finalist committee made up of the District Directors, Independent Directors and WPGA Executive Director.  The finalist committee then votes on their top choice for each award.  Once all the votes have been compiled the winners are notified in February and the information is released to the general public a week or two later.  The winners are then recognized for their accomplishment at the Spring Meeting awards ceremony.


Past Recipients



(The Hornung Trophy awarded for Golf Professional of the Year)

A Complete History of Past Winners





WPGA Special Awards Reception Sponsored By: